PSL 9: Babar Azam Shatters Records: Becomes the Fastest to 10,000 T20 Runs in PSL Clash

PSL 9: Babar Azam Shatters Records: Becomes the Fastest to 10,000 T20 Runs in PSL Clash

Pakistan’s cricket sensation, Babar Azam, etched his name in the T20 history books by becoming the fastest batter to reach 10,000 runs. The remarkable feat unfolded during a gripping Pakistan Super League (PSL 9) encounter against Karachi Kings, where Azam led Peshawar Zalmi in PSL 9.

In a stellar display of skill and consistency, Babar Azam achieved the milestone in just 271 innings, surpassing the previous record-holder, Chris Gayle, who took 285 innings to reach the 10,000-run mark. Azam needed a mere six runs in the game against Karachi Kings to rewrite the record books, a task he accomplished with finesse.

Throughout his illustrious T20 career, Babar Azam has showcased his prowess by representing an impressive 19 teams. His ability to dominate the format has solidified his status as one of the finest T20 batters of his generation.

The list of the fewest innings to 10,000 T20 runs now reads:

  1. Babar Azam – 271 innings
  2. Chris Gayle – 285 innings
  3. Virat Kohli – 299 innings
  4. David Warner – 303 innings
  5. Aaron Finch – 327 innings
  6. Jos Buttler – 350 innings

It’s worth mentioning that the toss played a crucial role in the match, with Karachi Kings captain Shan Masood opting to bowl first after winning it. Despite losing the toss, Babar Azam expressed his optimism about setting a challenging target, stating, “Good toss to lose, to be honest. We wanted to bat first. The pitch looks good, so we will look to put runs on the board. We started well but couldn’t finish well (in the last game). Hopefully, we will get it right today.”

The teams for the encounter were: Peshawar Zalmi:

  • Saim Ayub
  • Babar Azam (c)
  • Mohammad Haris (wk)
  • Tom Kohler Cadmore
  • Rovman Powell
  • Asif Ali
  • Aamer Jamal
  • Luke Wood
  • Mohammad Zeeshan
  • Waqar Salamkheil
  • Salman Irshad

Karachi Kings:

  • Shan Masood (c)
  • Mohammad Akhlaq (wk)
  • James Vince
  • Shoaib Malik
  • Kieron Pollard
  • Mohammad Nawaz
  • Irfan Khan Niazi
  • Daniel Sams
  • Hasan Ali
  • Mir Hamza
  • Tabraiz Shamsi

Babar Azam’s record-breaking achievement adds another chapter to his already impressive cricketing journey, leaving fans and cricket enthusiasts in awe of his remarkable talent.

Read more:

Share This


Wordpress (0)
Disqus (0 )
× How can I help you?